Fear & Following God’s Plan

I realized this morning that in 20 days I will be heading to Uganda. AFRICA!!

It still does not seem real. Me, a Georgia girl, that hasn’t done a whole lot of traveling heading to Africa. That’s how I know this is God’s plan and not my own. I can’t tell you how many times I have thought about not going. I have come up with some great excuses and it doesn’t help when your husband and mother don’t want you to go.

I have also worried about finances. This is not a trip I can just pay for. I have been blessed by some close friends and family, but I still have quite a bit to raise. When I do start to worry, I remind myself that God is in control and He will provide. I am not sure how or when but I trust in Him.

I have been reading Priscilla Shirer’s book, Fervent. I am learning how to pray specific prayers for all parts of my life. Well God made sure I read about fear this morning.

Priscilla reminds me that “fear is one of Satan’s primary schemes for crippling God’s people” and “if he’s working that hard to keep me from moving forward, there must be some blessing or beauty from heaven he’s trying to divert me from”.

As I look back over the last few months, fear is why I kept coming up with so many excuses not to go. Fear is what is keeping my husband and mother from being excited for me. Fear could keep me from one of the most amazing experiences of my life!

My favorite part of the chapter this morning (she is talking about Satan)…

“He’s just full of it. Full of excuses. Invested in cramming you full of fear. Why? Because fear is the antithesis of faith. And faith is what allows you to step foot on the soil of your destiny.”

I have felt Satan working harder these past few days ~ making me question so many things. How am I going to raise the rest of the money? What will it be like in Uganda? Will I get sick? Will I really make a difference?

I don’t know the answers to these questions, but I do know the One who has all of the answers and has a plan for my life. I am going to put all of my faith in Him and fight fear with prayer. Will you pray with me?

I plan to share about my journey to Uganda through this blog and I would love for you to join me!

8bed287102993b901ff3f7d21750041c

Leave a Reply

