October 2 – So Much To Do ~ So Little Time

Do you have that problem too? Way too much to do, but not enough time to do it?

so many things

I took the day off from work today so that I could try to catch up on some orders and work on the house. Well I got some orders done and a new shirt for my girl, but not a lot got done around the house.

Do you struggle to keep the house clean and neat? That is one thing that I struggle with each day. One of my children told me that the house will never be clean by my standards. You know what – He is right! It certainly doesn’t help when I get frustrated and start barking out orders to everyone.

We have started something new. I took popsicle sticks and wrote chores on each of them and even put a color on each one – one for each child. Instead of me telling them what they need to do, I just tell them to go check their popsicle sticks. It still needs some tweaking, but it has started to help.

I need to let go of the “perfect” house. Yes, there are some things that need to be done this weekend – like cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms and maybe finding homes for all the clothes in the basket in my room. Are my kids’ rooms ever going to look the way I would like them to – probably not.

I am working on relaxing more at home and just spending time with my family. My husband reminds me that once the kids are grown, then I can have my perfectly clean house. He is right!

I need to figure out the level of clean that I can live with and not stress over so that I can concentrate on the wonderful people I get to live with.

I hate to admit it, but I considered skipping Science Night at my son’s school tonight just so I could get some things done around the house. I am so glad I went with him instead. I got to hang out with my hubby, son, and daughter and do science experiments. Making Memories ~ That’s what life is about!

Do you struggle with the same thing? Do you have any tips for me?

(You can see that this post did not get posted on the 2nd. I told you – just not enough hours in the day!)

Blessings to You!
Melissa

One thought on “October 2 – So Much To Do ~ So Little Time

  1. I struggle with this too…it begins to make you lose sight of the joy the ones you love bring you. It really does help to put things into perspective, my husband tells me the same thing about the house and I’m like what if someone comes over? I am still learning that there are seasons for everything and the time is NOW to really enjoy, interact and make memories with my family. The house is always going to be there waiting patiently for us to return to those duties but our most important duty is to remember the heart of those we love and be present when they are doing the things that bring them happiness. I love your blogs they are a comfort and a reminder to stay focused on what’s important in life….the lives of those God has entrusted in our care.

Leave a Reply

