The Gift of Unconditional Love

As I sit here in front of the computer, I am trying to get hold of my thoughts and my heart. I am just blown away at the messages that I have gotten the past few days.

I just read Ann Voskamp’s post ~ How to Get Really Living Instead of Merely Existing. I feel the tears coming as I read the story about Maximilian Kolbe. And then I read this statement…

Because One died for me that I might breathe this breath…  It’s all a gift. 

And she asks these questions…

If we believe  we’re the lost who are saved — how can we lose our First Love? How can our bones not burn with thanks, with love, with the message of Who saved us? How can anything after His rescuing — be anything but appalling gift?

I am not here merely to survive each day – I am here to share God’s love, to make the most of each day!

5d5edabb5f9d5cbea5fd546bfbeb5275

All of this after an emotional day yesterday.

I almost didn’t go to church yesterday. My husband didn’t feel well and my middle child just did not want to go. I felt that I HAD to go and I knew why once I got there.

I have read the passage of the woman that was caught in adultery before (John 8:1-11), but I have never heard a message like this one. It was about Unconditional Love – definitely something I need to work on. Here are some of the notes I wrote…

  • As a church (or as a Christian), we are more known for what we are against than what we are for. (Amen?)
  • What she did was wrong, but Jesus knew the motives of the Pharisees.
  • Other people’s wrongs remind us we are right.
  • It’s easy to spot sin (takes nothing to pick up a stone), but it’s just as easy to miss sin in our own lives.
  • Jesus dropped the rock and took the beating for her!
  • God’s law levels us all. We are all unworthy of His unconditional love, but He loves us no matter what. We are saved by grace.
  • Others should be able to recognize we belong to Him by our love for others.
  • It is the revelation of the love of God for us that produces love for God in us.

(Recording of the sermon)

What are our motives? How do we treat others? Can others see Christ in us?

Let me tell you – I can feel God grabbing hold of me and changing me. How about you?

I want to leave this world knowing that I accepted each day as a gift. I want to lose the drive to be right and judgmental. I want to love others unconditionally, because that is how my Father loves me.

Love & Blessings to you all!
Melissa

Leave a Reply

