Being Thankful…even through the pain

What a week! If you had told me last Friday that my head would still be hurting this Friday, I would have thought there is absolutely no way I could get through that!

Well…I have gotten through it, even though it has been extremely hard.

I have cried and I have been angry and I have prayed for God to just help me.

The hardest part for me was the four days that I could do nothing. I took pain medicine to help me sleep so I wouldn’t have to feel the pain. I wasn’t able to spend time with my family, no cooking, no sewing, no nothing. Four days of my life just gone. That is hard to accept, especially when you are spending a month trying to change your life and live with purpose. I am trying to let that go and move on.

I have to say that I am very thankful for my husband and my mom. My husband held me and listened to me cry and fuss. He made sure I ate and drank and took my medicine. They both made sure our kids were well taken care of.

One of my co-workers told me this morning that I was so hopeful. I do wake up each morning hoping that the pain will be completely gone. Can’t wait until it actually happens!

I do have hope and my hope comes from my Savior. He has been with me the whole week. He gives me strength and wraps me in His arms when I feel like I can’t take any more. I am weak, but He is strong!

l_613fa9c0-5d73-11e1-aa4c-83c477200002

Well it is a new month and it is one of my favorites – one I think I need right now – a month of being thankful.

It is hard to be thankful sometimes. I have to tell you that I am more thankful for some things than I was last week. I am thankful I can spend time with and take care of my family. I am thankful I can get up and go to work. I am thankful I can drive myself where I need to go.

When I get home today, we will start our Thankful Tree…this is something we started last year and enjoyed. Each day we each take a leaf and write something we are thankful for. Last year I had to limit the times Reagan could write Legos. 🙂

Other things I like about this time of year are…relaxing in front of a fire, Georgia football (well, when they are winning), baking, crafts with the kids, and time with the rest of our family, After this past week, I will be even more thankful for these things.

What are your favorite things about this time of year? Do you have a way to show thanks this month?

Blessings to You!
Melissa

Leave a Reply

