Day 17 ~ More Like Mary…slowing down to spend time with Jesus

be-still-and-know-that-I-am-God

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10 : 41-42

Are you more of a Mary or Martha? 

As women, we have lots of responsibilities. It is so easy to be like Martha…too busy to sit at the feet of Jesus.

I am so guilty of this. I spent so many years getting up and getting my day started, checking off things on my to do list, and then heading to bed. Day after day without spending time with my Savior. I went to church on Sunday, but then left my Bible in my bag all week.

I was saved, but didn’t have a personal relationship with the One who saved me.

I am so thankful for people like Renee Swope, Holley Gerth, Lysa TerKeurst, and Courtney Joseph. Reading their blogs and their books have changed the way I live life.

I used to think…I really need to sit down and read my Bible. Now I can’t wait to spend my quiet time reading my Bible and listening and talking to Jesus. My favorite time is early in the morning, sitting in my chair by the window, and drinking my Spark.

Do you struggle with slowing down…taking time to listen to His voice?

Check out Courtney’s 7 ways to get in the Word. Be creative. Find what works best for you.

One thing that not only helped me read each day but also taught me how to reflect on what I read is the Good Morning Girls online study. You can register for free and even join a group. I am in a Facebook group and we share with each other what we learned from the passage each day. We also share and pray for each other.

Living with Purpose…Let’s all try to be more like Mary each day…slow down and spend time with Jesus.

Blessing to You!
Melissa

Leave a Reply

