Day 3 ~ We are THAT Family

Last night we changed things up a bit. My husband usually takes our two youngest to Awanas on Wednesday night, but he had to work last night.

I love that my kids enjoy going to Awanas but I felt we needed something different this week. We loaded up and headed to Zaxby’s. It was a fundraising night for their school and I had a coupon for a free meal!

Let me tell you that I have gone out with my three before and I have felt overwhelmed and at times even embarrased. It seemed like every time at least one of them would act like they had absolutely no raising.

Not last night…we had the best time together! We ate, we laughed, we enjoyed our time together. It made me realize that they are all growing up and that makes me happy and sad.

It makes me realize that they won’t be with me forever. Before I know it they will be off living their own lives. I have to cherish the moments I do have with them…good or bad.

We laughed about some of the other outings we have had and they loved calling each other out. I loved it when Reagan said he liked that we weren’t just an average family. He liked that we were different. He said we are THAT family. I laughed and then thought about what THAT meant.

We are THAT family that loves and supports each other no matter what.
We are THAT family that trusts God with our present and future.
We are THAT family that is okay with being different.
We are THAT family that gives each other a lot of grace.
We are THAT family that follows His Word and not the world.

Do we always get it right? No Way!

love

We are blessed to have a Heavenly Father that loves us, guides us, and wraps us in his strong arms when we really mess up and helps us keep going.

As I wrap up day 3 of Living with Purpose, I am spending some time thinking more about what THAT family…my family…should look like. How about you? What do you want your family to look like?

Blessings to You!
Melissa

Don’t forget my giveaway going on this week. Courtney Joseph’s new book ~ Women Living Well. Just click here to go to my review and giveaway post. Winner will be announced this Friday!

Leave a Reply

