See, I am doing a new thing…running!

isaiah43-18-19-w300h225

Hello Friends! I want to share something new I am doing…running. I am actually training to run in a 5K. I was proud of myself that I completed a 5K earlier in the year. I ran a little, but mostly walked it.

Those of you who have known me for years know that I have never been a runner. I never had the desire to be a runner. Actually, never thought I could be a runner.

I have joined a group called Know Mercy. We meet each week for a devotion, fellowship, and to run. We also have a running/workout calendar that helps us train during the week. I have to be honest. I almost didn’t go to the first meeting last week. I almost let the devil convince me that I had no business being there and there was no way I could do this. I am so glad I didn’t listen! I had such a good time with the group and was able to complete the run that night. My whole attitude changed that night.

Even though last week was super busy, I was able to run two more times. I made the time to do it and I can tell you I wouldn’t have if I had not been a part of this group.

One of the reasons I have never had the desire to run is because of my flat feet and my knees. I didn’t think I was physically able to do it. My husband helped me with that yesterday. He took me to a store that evaluated my feet and how I run and I found the perfect running shoe for me. I had no idea how much science goes into creating running shoes. I also had no idea how much they cost! It was very hard for me to spend the money for shoes but I think it will be worth it in the long run. I love that my hubby is being so supportive of this. I just wish he would do it with me.

A few years ago I would have let this opportunity pass me by. I would have given so many excuses. I feel like God has led me to this place though. I can look back and see that I found AdvoCare for a reason…to lose weight and feel like a new person, to make new friendships, and to reconnect with old friends. I am now more open to new experiences and pray that God will use all of this in some way for His glory.

I am doing a new thing! How about you? Is God calling you to do a new thing? It might not be running, but I am sure He has wonderful plans for you too!

Blessings to You!
Melissa

One thought on “See, I am doing a new thing…running!

  1. Melissa,
    You go girl! I am cheering for you, and so proud of you for joining, running and buying the right pair of shoes…maybe I will run one of these days…right now I am trying to get some help for my aching back…hugs to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

