Broken {Five Minute Friday}

It’s Five Minute Friday! I am linking up again with our awesome host, Lisa-Jo. She gives us one word each week and asks us just to write for five minutes. Our word for this week…

BROKEN

The perfect word for me this week. I felt broken yesterday. I found out that I didn’t get the job I had interviewed for…actually had two interviews for.

A local private school contacted me about a technology position for this coming school year. It sounded like a good fit for me and I thought it would be a great school for my kids. I really thought I would be offered the job after the second interview. You can imagine how it felt when they contacted me yesterday and said that even though I was very qualified they had chosen another candidate. I felt like I had been punched in the stomach.

I have to admit that I did cry a little bit yesterday and had myself a pity party, but today is another day. God has blessed me with a good job. It doesn’t pay as well as I would like but you know what…my God always provides.

I didn’t realize until last night that this was the first time in 18 years that I had not been offered a job that I interviewed for. Wow! That made me stop and really think.

There is a reason I didn’t get that job…He must have better plans for me. So today I don’t feel broken…I feel blessed!

639241

How about you? Have you gone through times where things didn’t work out as you had planned? Can you look back now and see why?

Blessings to You,
Melissa

Click on the link below to read what others are writing this week…
Five Minute Friday

15 thoughts on “Broken {Five Minute Friday}

  1. Wow. I am going through something similar right now. I have been trying to replace my 1 full-time job with 2 part-time jobs so I have more flexibility for my family. I have one part-time job lined up and ready to go, but I keep encountering roadblocks to turn my full-time job into part-time. Yesterday, I got more bad news that made me just want to give up. Today, thankfully is a new day. Thanks for sharing. It helps me to know I am not alone in these struggles. I pray that the path God is guiding you down becomes clearer and you are successful in finding the right job for you and your family.

    • Thank you so much for sharing with me! It helps me too to know that I am not alone. I will praying for things to work out the best for you and your family too. Blessing to You!

  2. I had a similar experience a few months ago. Amazing how personally we take “rejection.” But, I’ve also been on the hiring side of this and know how agonizing it is to tell a wonderfully qualified person no. A similar “punch in the stomach.”
    Don’t feel bad about your little pity party, we all need time to grieve before we can move on. And, you have clearly and positively moved on.
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. The bright butterflies at the top of your page are so pretty! Sorry about that job, but you are SO right. God will always provide exactly what we need. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I’m sorry you didn’t get the job…but I love your perspective. Blessings as you wait for the GOOD He has for you! Hugs and happy weekend to you, friend! 🙂

  5. I’ve had that experience too – getting called for the second interview and then being told you weren’t chosen. In fact, last year, I had that experience about 6x in a row. Talk about ego-deflating. It wasn’t until I realized that God had me where I was at for a reason that I was able to let it go and be okay with the rejection. Thanks for sharing – I know God has His best plans for you sweet sister!

    • Thank you sweet friend! I can’t wait to see what He has in store for me. I am spending time trying to refocus and enjoy where He has me right now.

  6. I am sorry you didnt get the job – that is always a bummer.

    I have felt a bit “broken” this week as well – or really “disconnected” would be my word. I have worked a LOT the last few weeks and I feel like I am just disconnected from my girls and hubbly. So today we went to the craft store and $100 later we spent the entire afternoon doing crafts and just being together. It was a nice break to just turn everything OFF and do something fun.

    Love and hugs, I am sure an even more wonderful opportunity is just around the bend for you!

  7. Oh how fun!! I think we will have to do that – I love crafts and we need some down time too. Thank you for the idea and for your sweet words!

    • I am learning to be patient – not an easy thing for me. 🙂 It helps to know that He has big plans for me if I just wait on Him and trust.

Leave a Reply

