Father’s Day…Happy & Sad Day

agfathersday5

I know this day is not an easy one for a lot of people. Either they have lost their Dad or some don’t have a relationship with him.

I am feeling blessed this year. I still have my Dad, my Step-dad, and my Father-in-law. We hope to see all three of them today. My kids and I are also blessed to have my husband. I love to watch him with the kids when we are fishing, cooking, or just hanging out. I pray that they will feel how much he loves them and that they will have so many wonderful memories of him when they are adults.

I didn’t always have a good relationship with my Dad. My parents divorced when I was 14 and saying it was hard is such an understatement. I moved away from my family and friends and our father-daughter relationship was torn to shreds.

I am sad to say that I tolerated him for a lot of years, even at my wedding. A year after my wedding though I severed all ties. My husband and I moved away and I decided I wanted nothing to do with him.

Let me tell you, forgiveness is essential for a happy, peaceful life. I didn’t have that for a long time. I thought I was okay but deep down there was a hole. It wasn’t until after my second child was born that we began working on our relationship again. I can tell you that it was only through God’s example and His teaching that I was able to forgive and love my Dad again.

We don’t talk about the past. We focus on the here and now. I have forgiven him for everything we went through back then and have told him so. We don’t have the perfect father-daughter relationship, but it works. I enjoy being around him now and my children LOVE to see their Grandpa!

So I know not all Father’s Days are good ones. I missed out on several years with mine, but I am glad I still have him and that we can celebrate this day together. It breaks my heart for my friends that don’t have their Dads today.

We are blessed to have my Step-dad and my Father-in-law too! My step-dad, Roy, has been so good to me and my family. He has always loved me and treated me like his own daughter. People are surprised when they find out that he in not my biological father. Everyone can see how much he loves me and my children. My husband’s dad, Thomas, is such a sweet man. I love to see him cuddle up with the kids and just talk with them. He has had to be so strong lately with my mother-in-law fighting cancer.

I am thankful for all the years I had with my Papa but this is a day that I miss him terribly. I have so many wonderful memories with him. I wish my children could have gotten to spend more time with him. He was a sweet, loving, God-fearing man and I love him!

Whether this is a happy or sad day for you, remember that you always have your Heavenly Father and He loves you unconditionally. If you are struggling in your relationship with your Dad or if you are missing him today, I pray that God will wrap His loving arms around you and give you peace. If you do have your Dad or Grandpas, tell them how much you love and appreciate them today. If you are married and have children, make sure to tell your husband too!

Blessings to You,
Melissa

 

6 thoughts on “Father’s Day…Happy & Sad Day

  1. I hope you don’t mind me sharing this here but a friend posted this on fb and I thought of it when I read your post:
    “In addition to Father’s Day, this is a day of ordinary worship wherein we are brought out of our families into the one great family and we attend to the Father of us all. No matter our family situation outside this time, from the call to worship through the readings, singing, communion and benediction, we are united together into one body where there is no Jew, Greek, Male, or Female. This is a time of recognition that our earthy family is temporary.”
    May you be blessed this day as you join your brothers and sisters in worship of our true Father!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this – I love it!! It is so comforting to know that no matter what our earthly family is like, we have so many wonderful brothers and sisters and a Holy Father.

Leave a Reply

