Being a Mom…

il_fullxfull.342606689

Being a Mom is hard but it is also the most amazing and rewarding job God could have given me!

I had no idea what to expect when they laid that sweet, baby boy in my arms 13 years ago. He was so small and fragile. I thought my heart would bust with all the love I felt for him. I became a Mom that day.

As I look back over the years, I mostly focus on the good stuff. His first birthday…starting school…playing baseball…all the hugs and kisses. I try to forget things like that one year in pre-school he lost all of his ice cream scoops almost every day – not a good thing.

When I look at this teenager now, I see a boy growing and changing and on his way to becoming a man. I just want to stop time. I know that in 5 short years my baby boy will be going off to college. Since I can’t stop time I will do what I can…enjoy all the moments I have with him and pray a lot!

God has also blessed me with two more children, another boy and a girl. My daughter tells me that God knew I needed a little girl and she is right. She adds so much personality to our family and lots of pink! She brightens my day and I cherish our “girl time”.

My middle child has been the hardest to figure out. He is very different from the other two. He is quiet…a thinker…strong-willed. The good thing is that God has used him to teach me patience. I also realized that there wasn’t just one way to raise a child. What I did for my first child did not work for my second.

Parenting is a lot of trial and error and a whole lot of praying. Each child is a new creation with their own look, personality, and gifts. I am still amazed at how different they are even though they came from the same two parents. Only God could be so creative.

God has also used these three blessings to work on me, change me, and make me dependent on Him. I have had to learn to give God control over every part of my life. Believe me I have tried to do things on my own and it just doesn’t work.

Moms have such a big responsibility raising their children. There are days when I am stressed out and just don’t think I can do anything right, but I can find comfort in knowing that my Father and my children still love me and give me grace. I cling to the days that are great. Those are the ones I will remember when I am older.

So I saw that there is nothing better for a person than to enjoy their work, because that is their lot. For who can bring them to see what will happen after them? Ecclesiastes 3:22

Yes, being a Mom is hard but the benefits are priceless!

Blessings to You,
Melissa

 

7 thoughts on “Being a Mom…

  1. “Parenting is a lot of trial and error and a whole lot of praying.” So true! What a lovely post. Yes, being a mother is a great challenge but it is also a priceless gift. I love being a mom and it is very evident that you do too.

  2. I nodded my head in agreement at your words, Melissa! My two girls were so very different. My oldest was much like me, my youngest, like my husband. I struggled so much with understanding and connecting with my youngest. Talk about being slapped down on the potter’s wheel and being reshaped, put into the kiln, and then back on the wheel for another round…yikes! I wouldn’t have it any other way, though. I grew so much, and we are so close now!

  3. Dear Melissa,

    Yes, our children do teach us so much and they help us turn to God more in prayer. God blessed us with one child, but I can see the differences with our second dog…currently puppy…Blessings to you and your family 🙂

    • I enjoyed reading your blog, moms really impact the family I know that we are called by God to make a difference in our childrens life, being retired with two grown children and two grands it has made my life, let’s say an experience that made me have my are you serious moments to my oh that is so adorable lol. but through this journey I continue to discover more about my self and enjoy the blessings that God has given me.

      • I am so glad you enjoyed it! It sounds like you know what I am talking about. 🙂 So thankful for my three blessings!

    • Blessings to you my sweet friend! Isn’t it amazing how God can use children and animals to teach us lessons.

Leave a Reply

