Friend {Five Minute Friday}

It’s Five Minute Friday! I am linking up again with our awesome host, Lisa-Jo. She gives us one word each week and asks us just to write for five minutes. Our word for this week…

FRIEND

I still remember the first day of 9th grade. I was in a new town and starting high school. I had left all the friends I had grown up with since kindergarten. So scared and so self-conscious.

I was in my English class and I still remember it like it was yesterday. The girl in front of me turned around and introduced herself – Gina. She was new to the school too. I remember she had the sweetest smile and was so much fun to talk to. We were instant friends.

From that first day, we talked (a lot) and spent time together whenever we could. She became my best friend!

Four years of classes, dances, boyfriends, football and basketball games, proms, and finally graduation. We ended up going to different schools but still stayed close.

Then she got married…I was so happy for her but I felt like I was losing her. Then she had her first baby…a beautiful, baby girl. I wasn’t sure where I fit in so our friendship started to slip away.

We lost each other for a while. I look back and I wish I had talked to her more and been honest about how I felt. We missed so many years.

I am so blessed to have her back in my life now! She is so sweet and encouraging and we can still talk for hours when we get the chance. With our busy lives we don’t get to see each other as much as we would like but we know the other is there if needed.

I am so glad she had the courage to turn around that first day of school. She changed my life forever!

6450_1184316575713_3917420_n

Check out some other posts on friendship over at Lisa-Jo’s…
Five Minute Friday

3 thoughts on “Friend {Five Minute Friday}

Leave a Reply

