Rest, Fun, and Yummy Cupcakes

Linking up with Holley again and our God-sized Dream Team! This past week worked out perfectly for my post…Holley wanted us to take some time to play and then post about it.

Have you ever looked at your calendar and thought…whew what a busy week ahead!

That’s what I thought last weekend. I saw one child taking the CRCT all week, projects, soccer games, baseball practices and games, Awanas, getting ready for the in(rl) conference, oh and working 8 hours a day. 🙂

I am so thankful that last weekend was a “free” weekend for us…no practices or ballgames. It gave me some time to catch up on housework and have a little fun.

I actually accomplished one of my goals for 2013…completing a 5K! A friend and I did the Chick-fil-a 5K in Athens Saturday morning. I have to say that I really enjoyed it! Now that I know I can do it, I want to train harder and get faster and do another one. Maybe a 10K next year!

72875_10200699818045480_1527080812_n

Have you ever had one of those days you just want to hold on to? Saturday was fun, but Sunday was one of those days.

We had a wonderful morning at church and we had nothing else planned for the day. I did something I hardly ever get to do…take a nap! My daughter and I snuggled up and slept for a few hours…it was just what I needed.

We woke up to the smell of smoke from my husband’s grill. He was getting ready to cook his fabulous hamburgers so Kat and I decided to make dessert.

I have to admit I have way too many yummy desserts on my Pinterest board but this one stood out…Berry-licious Strawberry Cake. We ended up making cupcakes with the homemade cream cheese frosting. Best cupcakes I have ever made!!

We enjoyed our supper and dessert and then enjoyed just hanging out together until bedtime.

I haven’t had a weekend like that in a very long time and it was much needed. I do love that our kids are active but what a gift to have one fun, relaxing weekend.

Are you a busy mom or dad too? What do you like to do for fun?

Blessing to You!
Melissa

Check out what the other dreamers did for fun…

Who would like a shirt to remind you that you are Beautiful? You are God’s creation and he adores you! I am working with a company right now to get these made and they are $15. Just message me if you would like one or purchase one at my Etsy shop if you need it shipped. All profits will go toward starting a non-profit organization and organizing a ladies conference.
https://www.etsy.com/listing/130205756/beautiful-1-peter-33-4-t-shirt

4 thoughts on “Rest, Fun, and Yummy Cupcakes

  1. Thank you for sharing about your weekend. I got a sense of the joy and relaxation you experienced. I was reminded of the simple pleasures that can do so much to restore our souls. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

