A Beautiful Start

Welcome! I am late writing this week’s post but now I see why I just couldn’t write earlier this week.

Holley reminds us that the most important part of any God-sized dream is the Giver of it. She asked us to set aside a particular time this past week to be with Him–to pray, journal, take a walk or simply sit quietly and listen.

I have be wrestling with what to do next. I can already look back over the past few months and see how He has changed me. I am stronger and more confident. He has shown me that it is okay to admit and share my flaws. He has shown me that I am worthy and beautiful because He created me.

I have started stepping out of my comfy spot as a follower and I am becoming a leader, an encourager.

Through this journey I have found different parts of my dream but they all lead back to encouraging others.

I have felt a calling to start a non-profit organization as part of my God-sized dream but I have felt God slowing me down and pushing that back for now. Earlier this week I just wasn’t sure what He wanted me to do besides write on my blog and encourage others through my daily life.

Well on Tuesday I asked and I got an answer.

I have had ideas swirling around in my mind about having a conference here in Georgia. I thought that I should wait to have it after I got my non-profit going. That’s what I get for thinking. 🙂 I now feel that he wants me to start with the conference.

I love how he puts people in our lives and uses them to help lead us. I met my friend Jill when I asked to be added to a Good Morning Girls Bible study. I have never met her face to face, but she has become a good friend of mine.

On Tuesday, she posted the Dove Real Beauty Sketches video in the Bible study we are co-leading. I made a comment that helping others see themselves like God sees them has been a passion of mine and I would love to have a conference. Within a few minutes, she had offered to help me with her event planning and photography skills. Then she said, “Doing something is the first step!”

That’s all I needed. Just a friend telling me to get started. That got me excited and I posted on my FB page that I wanted to have a conference and that led other friends offering to help.

After the excitement wore off I could hear that chihuahua barking at me and nipping at my heels. (Check out my post on my Chihuahua.) I started doubting whether I could really do this. How would I take care of all the details?

Well I sent that chihuahua home and I started to make a list. A list things to do and who could help me do it. I am excited again and I know that I can do this with God’s help and direction.

I want this to be a day that reminds each one of us that we are beautiful. Our Creator made us and even knows the number of hairs on our head. He loves us and He has great plans for us.

Would you like to help? Let me know. I’d love to have you as a part of our team. I would truly appreciate prayer too!

65226_123446874499020_710914355_n

Want to see what the other dreamers found out when they took time to spend with our Giver? Just click on the button below.

4 thoughts on “A Beautiful Start

  1. I’m so excited for you Melissa! This conference idea sounds amazing and I know with God you are going to great things. I’ll be praying for you as you keep following the God-sized dream God has given you. 🙂 “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4 Sarah 🙂 ❤

  2. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your site. You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d
    really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an email if interested. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

