It’s Spring…Time to Clean

Spring Cleaning…it is something I enjoy (when I have the time) but my family does not share in my enthusiasm.

It makes me feel good when I clean up and clean out. I am one of those that likes for everything to have a place…I like to have things organized. A lot of my frustration comes from no one else in my family having the need for organization.

As I sit here and write, I see so many things that need to be done. Then I look out my window and it looks like Spring is finally here. It is supposed to be a fabulous day here in Georgia. This is also a rare Saturday for us – only one child’s activity today.

I could spend most of the day happily cleaning and organizing but somehow I don’t think my family will share in my happiness. I used to stress way too much over the housework. I spent more time cleaning than I did with my children. And no one enjoys being home with a drill sergeant. I still strive to have a cleaner, more organized home but some things are more important…fun times with my family.

I guess the best way to handle this is a compromise. I’ll let them sleep in. We will go cheer my daughter on in her soccer game. I will make a list of chores for everyone so we can tackle some of the things that need to be done. Then who knows…maybe the G-day game in Athens or the park. I don’t care just as long as it is outside and with my family.

What are your plans for today? Do you struggle with cleaning and organizing too? Do you have any tips to share?

I just found a great site for Spring Cleaning…Spring Cleaning Made Easy! It is broken down into 31 mini tasks. Sounds perfect for me and my busy family.

spring-cleaning

Blessings to You,
Melissa

10 thoughts on “It’s Spring…Time to Clean

  1. Happy Saturday, Melissa..it sounds like you came up with a good compromise 🙂 Alas, I wish I was more organized, and so does my husband…it is a growth process for me in that area…Thanks so much for your prayers and I’m glad everyone is healthy 🙂

    • It worked out great – got lots done and ended up going to a place called Grower’s Outlet – lots of flower and veggies. Came home, worked in the yard and got the flowers planted. Just need to get the raised garden built so we can get it going.

    • It doesn’t happen very often with three kids but I LOVE it when my house is all neat and clean. 🙂 Hope you feel better soon!

  2. We went crazy cleaning a couple weeks ago… But the only reason that happened was because our house is for sale lol! I’m so not the organized person I want to be =)

    • Selling your house will really get you going. 🙂 We thought about selling ours – it helped us get motivated to get rid of a lot of stuff. I’m ready to get rid of even more.

    • You are welcome! I am finding just a little at a time helps. I try to tackle one room or one area at a time. I think I need a day by myself to clean out the kids’ rooms. I’m sure they wouldn’t miss what I get rid of. 🙂

Leave a Reply

