After {Five Minute Friday Post}

It’s Five Minute Friday! I am linking up again with our awesome host, Lisa-Jo. She gives us one word each week and asks us just to write for five minutes. Our word for this week…

AFTER…

Have you ever gone through a hard time, wondering what in the world God had planned? Have you gotten to the after and realized it was all worth it?

The past few years have been tough for me and my family. I am one of those that likes to be in control and plan everything for my family. Well God took care of that and put me in my place.

Let me tell you…I had it all planned out!

I left one of my favorite jobs to go teach at my son’s school. It was great because my second child would be starting Kindergarten there too. I could just see all of us going to school together for many years. I could see the day that my daughter would start Kindergarten and we would all be together. It was going to be perfect…well not quite!

My 6 year old boy had a horrible year, actually he didn’t make it through the whole year. We withdrew him a few months before school ended. I couldn’t believe how we were treated. It broke my heart and I saw all of my plans falling apart. Me and my other son stayed for two more years. It was hard but I felt I had to in order to bring in the income we needed.

I struggled with who I was and who I wanted to be. My marriage suffered and I wasn’t even sure if we would make it. I wasn’t the parent that I wanted/needed to be. I hit rock bottom.

249035054364776921_oDTswMTE

Well rock bottom is exactly where God wanted me to be. It wasn’t until then that I gave him everything…me, my marriage, my children, my plans, my career, my future.

I can tell you the after is Amazing! I feel like I am right where he wants me to be. I am growing and learning. I am also excited about the dreams he has placed in my heart.

Life is so different for all of us because he is in control now. He is who we live for.

What comes to mind when you hear the word After? Check out some stories from some of my other blogging friends. I know they would love to hear from you too!

Blessings to You,
Melissa
Five Minute Friday

8 thoughts on “After {Five Minute Friday Post}

  1. What a story of hope and joy! Thanks for sharing, Melissa. God is so good to always take our before and weave a beautiful after. So happy to read this story of His hand in your life. Blessings!

    • Thank you for stopping by. We serve an amazing God who has some wonderful plans for our lives if we just let him have control. Blessings to you!

    • Absolutely! I can look back now and see that God got us out of there. Lots of things going on now that I wouldn’t be happy about.

  2. Stopping over from Five Minute Friday… I love the quote you put in your picture. It’s what drew me to your post. I am so glad that God met you in your time of need, and that you have felt him move in your life in and through that time.

Leave a Reply

