Why Dream?

I am still dreaming the dream…linking up with Holley Gerth and the rest of the Dream Team this week to talk about the “why” of our dreams. Won’t you join us?

Are you a dreamer? If you are, you must get a copy of Holley’s book, “You’re Made for a God-Sized Dream“. It is like sitting down with a long time friend. She will encourage you, challenge you, and prepare you for going after your own God-sized dream.

One part of the book that has changed the way I look at my dream is when she said,

“It’s about a relationship. God is not all that interested in your getting things done. If he made the world in seven days, there’s nothing he can’t check off his to-do list without your help. What he wants on this journey to your dream is intimacy with you. Success is simply this: obedience.”

I have learned that it is about spending time with God, finding his will for my life, and completely depending on him. This has changed all areas of my life, not just pursuing my dream.

I feel stronger, more confident, and much more willing to step out of my comfort zone. I am changing and growing and willing to do whatever he calls me to do.

One of the hardest things for me that I am working on, and will probably always have to work on, is Patience. I am learning to Be Still.

psalm37_7

I have big dreams – things that I had never even imagined I could do – but I can tell he wants me to do a little at a time. He knows me so well and knows that I usually take on way too much and then get completely burned out. I’ve got to learn to go slow and steady.

So why Dream?

My first and most important “why” is that I am growing closer to God and following his will for my life.

Another “why” is to be an example to my children so that they can see what an amzing God we have and that he desires to have a relationship with us. I want them to know that God has given them certain gifts and has wonderful plans for their lives.

My other “why” is because I believe he made me to encourage others. I have never felt worthy enough to do that but he has shown me that I can help others through my experiences. I just have to be willing to open up and share.

So my friend, what are your dreams? I’d love to hear about them and your why.

One thought on “Why Dream?

Leave a Reply

