Broken {Five Minute Friday Post}

It’s Five Minute Friday! I am linking up again with our awesome host, Lisa-Jo. She gives us one word each week and asks us just to write for five minutes. Our word for this week…

BROKEN

I have to tell you this word hits hard this morning. I went to bed feeling broken.

This has been a very hard week on our family. All five of us ended up with the awful stomach virus. I am so thankful for my husband who didn’t have it quite as bad and took care of all of us. As always though, when I get sick the house becomes a mess and my patience is not quite what it should be.

I let all of the clutter, the cleaning, the to do list get the best of me. I started doubting my ability to be a good wife and mom. AND it is the week of Easter…even more than normal to get done!

Tired…sick…stressed…broken.

I have to tell you that today started off with a reminder of what IS important from my 9 and 6 year olds.

My 6 year old asked why we call today Good Friday because it was a sad day because Jesus died. My 9 year old told her that it really was good because he died for our sins and Sunday makes it all worth it because he comes back.

563674_143799519129362_107466824_n

Broken takes on a whole new meaning for me…I get tired and stressed and overwhelmed but nothing compares to what He did for me.

My Savior waas broken and battered and hung on that cross for me. He gave his life for me. For Me!

You know what…the clutter will be picked up when we have time, the cleaning will get done at some point, and the to do list will be waiting to be done.

What HAS to be done this weekend is thanking and praising our Lord and Savior that He was willing to come to this earth and die such a horrible death just to take away my sin.

We will make our resurrection rolls, enjoy our time together and with our extended family, and go to church, but my prayer for me and my family is that we will focus on what Easter really means and that we will carry that throughout the whole year.

Five Minute Friday

3 thoughts on “Broken {Five Minute Friday Post}

Leave a Reply

