Finding Joy

It’s Tuesday again…a time when we link up with other God-sized Dreamers and share our thoughts, our struggles, and our dreams. This week Holley has asked, “What brings you joy?”

JOY…this word makes me start singing a song that I learned as a child…”I’ve got the Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy down in my heart”. Are you singing it now?

I used to thing joy was just another word for happy. Now I see happy as just a feeling, something that changes very easily. Joy is what I am full of no matter what the circumstances. Joy is what fills me up when I am thankful. Joy comes from trusting God.

In this life we can’t be happy all of the time, but we can be joyful!

165366617539364072_uGla7qOy_c

Source: access-jesus.com

A book that helped change my view of life was Ann VosKamp’s, One Thousand Gifts. I learned that joy comes from being thankful, even in the hard times. Eucharisto.

When we change our negative thoughts into thankful thoughts our whole world changes. The laundry that has piled up means we have lots of clothes to wear. The kids fussing reminds me that we were blessed with three healthy children that need to learn and practice God’s love.

Is it easy to find joy when you are tired and weary? No, but oh so worth it!

Have you ever counted your blessings, giving thanks for the little things? Ann helps us by providing us with a monthly Joy Dare and lots of free tools. She helps remind us to live fully and find joy in the simple things.

So, what brings me joy?

When I spend time with my Savior and He fills my soul. Knowing that God made me for a purpose and He is using me to glorify Him.

Hearing (and maybe even singing out loud) a song that says what I am feeling or needed to hear. Watching my children as they sleep.

My husband filling my van up with gas or going to the grocery store so I don’t have to.

Hearing the birds sing, Watching the sun come up. I could go on and on because I have so many things to be thankful for. Things that bring me true Joy.

Now it’s your turn…what brings you Joy?

Join us over at Holley’s to see where other dreamers find Joy!

Blessings to You!
Melissa

13 thoughts on “Finding Joy

  1. Thank you for the inspirational post! During the difficult times of the day I deliberately think thoughts of joy to change the situation. It works to change it, and makes me and those around me happier as well. And yes…the song is stuck in my head for the rest of the day : )

    • The same goes in my house – we are all happier when I am looking for the joy and not the troubles. 🙂 You have to admit it is a great song and will keep you thinking joyful thoughts all the day long.

  2. Amen! Thanks for sharing! This is a topic that’s very dear to my heart. It’s what my entire website is based on – Joy Joy Joy!! Thanks for sharing, I loved reading this:)! You should see the big smile on my face right now lool. And yes I’m singing too!!
    God bless you and fill you with His joy and peace now and always, Amen. Thanks again for sharing:)!!!

  3. A perfect post for me today, Melissa, as I look out over the new foot of snow that fell yesterday and overnight, that I have started to shovel and must go out to do more…

    I found myself really having to reach for gratitude, but once I started that list, it really flowed. My attitude changed as I shoveled, and my attention went to admiring the warm gold sunshine on the snow laden evergreen trees rather than the heavy task of shoveling.

    Right on target, my dear!

    • I am sure you are tired of snow but I wish we had gotten at least one day of it down here. I love how you described it – sounds beautiful!

  4. I loved reading your list of what makes you experience joy as you give thanks, Melissa…it is so true. This morning as I cleaned up, I gave thanks we had food and dirty dishes instead of grumbling about cleaning up. Prayed for your MIL’s chemo tomorrow….may God be with her and strengthen her.

    • Thank you! Yesterday did not go as planned. Her port turned around and the doctor couldn’t fix it yesterday so they will fix it Monday and then start the chemo next Thursday. I felt so bad for her to have to put it off.

  5. Hearing my children sing the Psalms…or any children singing the Psalms really; that brings me great joy 🙂 I have a feeling that being a part of the SDG small group probably will too!

Leave a Reply

