Rest {Five-minute Friday Post}

It’s Five Minute Friday! I am linking up with our awesome host, Lisa-Jo. She gives us one word each week and asks us just to write for five minutes. Check out the word for this week…

REST…what comes to your mind when you hear this word?

I think about how my life is busier now than ever…full-time job, three kids, baseball, soccer, cooking, cleaning, and you get the picture. I am also blogging and pursuing my God-sized dream. When do I have time to rest?

I also think of sitting by the fire or sitting out in the warm sunshine (can you tell I like to be warm?) and reading a good book.

Then I feel deep down that my rest doesn’t come from something I do or not do, it comes from my Savior.

Just a few weeks ago I let my to do list get the best of me. I was not only looking at what I needed to do that day but what I was behind on and what I needed to do in the upcoming months. I felt overwhelmed and felt like I couldn’t do anything.

I felt God telling me to slow down, focus on what has to be done right now, take baby steps. I could feel His arms around me and assuring me that He had it all under control.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

My rest comes from letting it all go, giving my worries and fears to God, and spending time with my Creator. I know He has a plan for me, one better than I ever imagined.

I’d love to hear what rest means to you. Leave me a comment and then check out all of my fellow bloggers over at Lisa-Jo’s.

Five Minute Friday

Blessings to You!
Melissa

4 thoughts on “Rest {Five-minute Friday Post}

  1. Melissa,
    You’re so much wiser than me…I usually don’t get the message to rest until I’m flat on my back. I need to listen to my body and God in me and get it right. Thank you for the reminder. By the way, I used the same verse as my inspiration for FMF. So glad to read yours.
    Peace and good,
    Chelle

    • Oh sweetie – I don’t always get the message in time. 🙂 I am so glad we have a patient and loving Father. I have to say that I am finally learning to stop when I feel like I am drowning and start giving it all to Him.

Leave a Reply

