Wanting More

It’s Tuesday! This week Holley asked us…What do you really want more of in your life? Will you dare to say it out loud?

If you had asked me this question 10 years ago you would have gotten a completely different answer. Back then I wanted a bigger house, better car, to go on trips, you know…all the things society tells us we should want. It didn’t help that my self-confidence was low so I also thought I had to have these things to fit in and have others like me.

Wow – that was hard to write. I wanted to go back and delete that but I couldn’t. Was that really me? As much as I hate to admit it, it was. I bought into what the world was telling me. That was also a time in my lifeย when I didn’t have a very close relationship with God.

I am overwhelmed with emotions right now realizing how far I have come and how different I am.

I have been through some rough times over the past few years and now I can look back and see that God was bringing me to my knees so I would look up to Him. He pursued me because He loves me.

I can now say that I am thankful for those tough times. I now know what is important and what I want more of in my life.

I want hugs and kisses from my husband and kids. I want silly times and hard times that bring us closer. I want to be a good friend and encourage those around me. I just want to be me because God created me and has a purpose just for me.

I want God’s light to shine through me and live a life that glorifies Him.

let-your-light-so-shine-robert-babler

What am I giving up for my wants?

I am giving up the worry and stress of being who everyone else wants me to be. I am giving up the wants of our society. I am giving up things that take time away from my family. I am giving up things that keep me from going after my God-sized Dream!

What do YOU want more of in your life? Are you willing to give up things to get it?
Please let me know how I can pray for you.

Blessings to You,
Melissa
Join us over at Holley’s to see what other dreamers want more of in their lives.

15 thoughts on “Wanting More

  1. Melissa,
    I can so relate to today’s dreams being far different than those I had 10 years, even 5 years ago. I am thankful that God broken me and inclined me to lean on Him. His ways are so much better….
    Beautifully brave written post.
    Peace and good, sweet sister.
    Chelle

  2. What an awesome testimony on how much God has changed your heart, Melissa…love it!
    How can I pray for you this week, dream buddy? Email me or DM me…praying for now that God will continue to guide you and give you His peace as you pursue your dream of starting a nonprofit. So grateful to know you ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi Melissa,
    I can very much relate to being different that I was 10+ years ago…what I thought was important, what I read/watched, how I acted (and reacted), what I wanted. I’m so very different now…and so very, very thankful that God didn’t leave me there.
    Blessings,
    Laura

  4. You are shining so bright, girlfriend, I have to shield my eyes! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m glad you were changed, because you can use those experiences to help others.
    You have exciting dreams, Melissa, and I am looking forward to you stepping further into them at God’s pace.

  5. I want more of God’s presence and peace, but I have to give up trusting me more than trusting him. It’s an incredible value for me, yet I still don’t always take him up on it, unfortunately. Praying that I will, more and more.

    • One thing that I have really struggled with is letting Him have control. It is very hard for me to let go. I am working on it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Love your witness here. I too have struggled to give up on worry. I was a bit overwhelmed this week with that and it kept gnawing away at my peace. Only God could finally removed, Don’t we have an amazing God! enjoyed reading your blog. coming over from SDG

  7. Hi Melissa!
    So glad the Lord crossed our paths this week. Love your thoughts here and can share that the Lord brought me down a similar path. When I was in my 20s and 30s, I thought all the “stuff” would bring happiness and security, but all it brought was dust and debt. He showed me that my most cherished “possessions” were the people under my roof, and my job was to take care of them for Him. Girl, talk about a paradigm shift!

    I quit chasing the “stuff” and started focusing on our family. Best decision I ever made! Things are shifting once again, now that my kids are in college and our parents are aging. But the focus is the same — family first.

    • Hi! Thank you so much for sharing! We are still paying for some of our decisions – but we are so close to being out of debt except for our home. What a relief it will be when we finally get there.

Leave a Reply

