Pursuing the Dream…Time to Take Action

Dreams…are they just something that you think about and then tuck away in your heart or are you ready to give it your all and see what is possible with God?

Me…I gave up on dreams for a while. I was just doing good to get through all the day-to-day stuff. I didn’t have time for dreams.

After I changed my priorities and started spending more time with God, He started working on my heart and started putting the right people in my life ~ like Holley Gerth! I have never met Holley in real life but I am so blessed to call her my friend and mentor. She is helping me take the time and pull that dream out that God has put in my heart.

So…I have this dream. I’ve pulled it out and dusted it off…now what?

Well it’s time I stopped thinking about it and take some Action! Our challenge this week was to take steps toward our dream. Even though I was sick most of this past week, I was able to get a few things done.

1~ I talked to my husband. I expected him to be indifferent but supportive. Boy was I wrong! He thought I had some great ideas. He and one of our friends helped me brainstorm and were excited for me.
2~ I bought a book…my oldest son said it was perfect for me. 🙂

untitled

3~ I asked for help. Asking for help should be such an easy and simple thing to do but for some reason it is hard for me. I was so blessed with responses from new and old friends.

4~ I created a space for myself in our living room.  The kids know I am doing my Bible study or working on my blog or just catching up on things when I am in my area.

My next steps? Praying for clarity and direction and making a “to do” list for starting my nonprofit organization.

As I start taking steps toward my dream, Holley reminds me that my dream is not just something to accomplish. It is a time to grow closer to God and allow Him to work through me. The process and what He does in me and through me will be as important as achieving my dream. I am already seeing ways He is working in other areas of my life and I can’t wait to see what else He has planned.

So what’s next for you? Are you ready to see what God has in store for you?

I saw this and had to share…

dream-unpursued-300x253

Blessings to You,

Melissa

3 thoughts on “Pursuing the Dream…Time to Take Action

  1. I love what you said about the process being important…though I sometimes feel as if I have a long way to go, I love watching what He is doing in each step! Blessings to you, Melissa, as you continue this journey! So blessed to be walking it with you!

    • I feel that way too – a long way to go but I am finding it more fun if I concentrate on the step I am on and not worrying about the next step and beyond. I spent a lot of years worrying about the next steps and beyond and all I got out of it was stress and gray hair. 🙂

  2. I love the idea of setting up an area to ‘work’ in. Since I am an empty nester I don’t need the boundary for others but maybe I need it for myself. I think if I have a specific area and maybe even a specific time I can work and move on instead of being distracted and not getting anything finished. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

