Facing Fear ~ Finding Your Purpose

FEAR…it can stop you in your tracks…it can keep you from achieving what God created YOU to do!

Fear kept me from having a closer relationship with God when I was younger.

Fear kept me in a career where I wasn’t happy or fulfilled anymore.

Fear kept me from just being ME for so many years.

Can you remember a time where fear kept you from making a change or kept you from going after a dream?

Fear is not necessarily a bad thing unless it stops you from becoming who God created you to be. If you are scared, you are usually dreaming or trying something new. When you face your fear and work through it you become stronger and more confident.  Our enemy wants us to be fearful and unused. He wants to keep us from stepping out of our comfort zone and doing God’s work. We have to remember that God is bigger than our fear. In Mark 5:35 Jesus tells us, “Do not be afraid; only believe”. Facing our fears and relying on God can take us places that we did not even imagine.

Dear friend…God create you to be YOU. He created you for a very specific, unique, and important purpose! Don’t let fear hold you back. We learn in Ephesians 2:10, “For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” It amazes me that God took His time to create me and make plans just for me. He did that for you too!

Holley Gerth says in You’re Made For a God-Sized Dream, “You are who you are for a reason. God could have designed you in any way that he wanted. After all, he spoke the world into being. Customizing you wasn’t  a challenge. so why would he create you in a way that didn’t match up with the biggest dreams he has for your life?”

There are times when I am working on steps toward my God-sized dream and I start doubting myself. I let those negative thoughts start creeping in…you can’t do this…who do you think you are…this is way too big for you. I fight those feelings by turning to prayer or reading my Bible.
96334879499174289_BEmeHOOK_b
I know I must be on the right track if the enemy is coming after me and trying to make me doubt what I am doing. I hope I am making him fearful! I want to help women and girls find their gifts and purpose and go after their God-sized dreams. I would love to see my community full of strong, beautiful women that are following God’s plan for their lives.

So…what is holding you back from being who God created you to be? Do you need a friend, someone that will listen to you, pray for you, and cheer you on? I am here if you need me. Also check out Holley’s site for more information about God-sized dreams.

Blessings to you, Melissa

 

2 thoughts on “Facing Fear ~ Finding Your Purpose

  1. Just love this part, Melissa: Fear is not necessarily a bad thing unless it stops you from becoming who God created you to be.

    I have so been there and done that, far too many times in different areas of my life. It is such a happier and more fulfilling place to be unafraid, although that is something I work on all too regularly.

    I read a quote today on another blog that reminds me of what we need to do: “If you take the easy way out, your life will get harder. If you take the hard way out, your life will get easier.” – Claude Hamilton
    We have to let go of that negativity, of those naysaying voices, and continue to move forward towards our dreams!

    • Absolutely Kim – we have to focus on our dreams and the positives. The negatives will stop you in your tracks. I have been fighting a lot of negatives lately but I won’t let them stop me.

Leave a Reply

