Finding Encouragement

As a 40-something year old woman, it saddens me to see the All About Me attitude everywhere in today’s society. I grew up in a time and place where people cared about each other and helped each other. My grandparents were wonderful examples of how we are supposed to help and treat others ~ they helped other family members, they helped in the community, and they helped at the church. I expected to follow in their footsteps in the small town I grew up in.

That didn’t happen ~ Tough experiences and disappointments changed me over the years. I started closing myself off because I worried too much about what other people would think and I was sure I wasn’t good enough to do the things I felt led to do.

It was only when I let God have all of my worries and fears that I started to become who He called me to be. Last year was when I really started to change. I was tired of living a lie…of trying to be who everyone else wanted me to be. I left a teaching career and financial stability and I can tell you these changes did not sit well with some of my family. Changing was hard but I clung to God for strength and clarity.

One of the best things that happened during this hard time in my life was finding other women on the Internet that felt like me. The first blog and book I found was Renee Swope and her book A Confident Heart. My confidence and my faith grew as I found other bloggers and books. I was so happy to find, in this All About Me society, that there were women and groups out there created just to encourage other women!

I am so glad I stumbled on Holley Gerth’s blog last Fall when she was asking for applications for her God-sized Dream Team. I filled out the application not having any idea about my dream but I wasn’t worried because my insecurities had kicked in and I didn’t think I would be picked anyway.

I have to admit I was excited then terrified when I got her email, but God knew what He was doing (like always!). I am changing…I am growing…I am stepping out of my comfort zone. I am enjoying this experience with an amazing group of ladies!

Last week we picked one other team member to be our buddy. Someone we could get to know better and be there to encourage each other. My buddy, Kim, is an amazing woman and I know she would love to have you visit her blog. Click on the picture below and leave her a comment…let her know you are a friend of mine.

5838002036_ce8bd23738

My friends, life is too short to spend time and energy on things that pull us away from Him and tear us apart. God created us to love and encourage one another. He wants to use us for His glory. You just have to say “YES”.

Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching. Hebrews 10:25

Are you struggling with insecurities? Do you feel God leading you to do something different but you are scared? I would love to be here for you…just to listen or provide you with some words of encouragement.

Blessings to you,
Melissa

3 thoughts on “Finding Encouragement

Leave a Reply

