Dead at 30 but Buried at 70!

Have you ever heard the saying “Dead at 30 but buried at 70”?

I heard that for the first time at the beginning of this year and it has really stuck with me. It made me take a long, hard look at my life and where I was going. What happens to all of those dreams we had when we were younger? At 20 we are ready to take on the world! By 30 we are in a routine and have a “make it to Friday” attitude.

I decided to make a change this year. I started by reading “The Magic of Goals” by Ron Reynolds. I actually got to meet him at an AdvoCare training and he signed my book! I highly recommend this book if you have lost sight of your dreams. I also made it a priority to spend more time praying, reading, and studying. Check out my Favorite Books section to see some of my favorites from this year.

What a peace and relief you feel when you give it all to God! You see, I have always been one who thinks they have to try to control everything, to have everything planned out. No wonder I was so stressed and frustrated! I had to learn to give it all to God and let Him have control over my life. Was it easy? No way! I still struggle with it at times, but now I can stop myself and pray for His help. A passage that I have turned to many times is Jeremiah 29:11-12

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.

When you let go of your worries and fears and let Him take control, you are free to dream and to set goals. The neat part is that He will help you with these if you let Him. He has put a dream in my heart that is much too big for me and scares me when I think about how “I” can do it. The focus has to be on Him and how he is going to use me to do it. This blog is just the first part of the dream and I can’t wait to see what happens in 2013!

So…what are your goals and dreams for 2013 and beyond? Are you ready to give Him control of your life and see what amazing things can happen? Join me on this journey of learning and growing and dreaming! 

Leave a Reply

